Databases
Resources are provided by the Texas State Library and the Bedford Public Library. Enter your valid Bedford Public Library card to access them from anywhere.
Automotive
Contains the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
A well-organized collection of detailed, yet user-friendly, repair guides for all manner of small engines.
Articles, Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
A comprehensive resource of full-text academic journals, videos, reports and books on dozens of subjects ranging from anthropology, chemistry and culture to law, women studies and zoology.
A searchable collection of more than 30,000 eBooks (5,000+ in Spanish) from trusted publishers. Ideal for school, research projects, & everyday information needs.
All databases from the vendor EBSCO that are available to BPL patrons.
An easy-to-search interface for public library patrons looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books and other reference materials on a variety of topics.
All databases from the vendor Gale that are available to BPL patrons.
A multidisciplinary database providing full text for popular magazines, reference books and other highly regarded sources from the world leading publishers.
A resource offering cover-to-cover full text for U.S.,international andregionalnewspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Real-time access to world-wide news (30-day rolling archive) from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire.
All databases from the vendor Proquest that are available to BPL patrons.
Near real-time access to top news feeds from around the globe across a range of business and general news topics.
Books & Literature
An essential library tool providing access to book reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources, including newspapers, review journals and popular magazines.
An index of essays from more than 9,000 anthologies published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain since 1985, with coverage spanning the entire range of humanities and social sciences.
A rich collection of full text covering thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
An index of classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights.
The most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials.
An essential index for readers seeking short stories by author or genre and those researching a literary figure or body of work.
Bring to life childrens and YA books with video trailers, author interviews, discussion questions, and much more. Great for book clubs, choosing books, and homework help!
A collection of over 1100 titles for grades K-6, and includes our unique animated, talking picture books, read-along chapter books, national geographic videos, non-fiction books, playlists, as well as books in Spanish and French.
A comprehensive collection of copyrighted, American, twentieth-century poetry, this database covers more than 316 of the most important and studied poets and includes over 52,000 works.
Need to know the next book in the series? This database developed by the Kent District Library will help you find the book you need.
The largest database of library bibliographic information. It enables people to find authoritative content in every format from library collections worldwide.
Business & Finance
Full-text articles from key publications covering business topics including finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing.
A full-text database that covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR), including risk evaluation, emergency preparedness and crisis communications.
Premium business content, including research articles, SWOT analyses, company profiles, industry information and more, via a highly focused user interface created especially for the business searcher.
A unique interface of Business Source Complete that provides an easier browse and search of countries, companies and industries; results may then be used as limiters for a search.
Real-time access to world-wide news (30-day rolling archive) from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire.
Newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources published in the United States and Canada.
Supports small business owners and entrepreneurs with reference books including Nolo do-it-yourself guides as well as business videos, details on how to create business plans, and more.
Near real-time access to top news feeds from around the globe across a range of business and general news topics.
Computers & Technology
Video tutorials for computer basics, the Internet and operating systems; includes beginner-to-advanced level for popular and commonly used Microsoft and Adobe software applications.
A full-text database covering computer science and technology disciplines and the business and social implications of new technology.
Includes tutorials for common library services like OverDrive, RBdigital, cloudLibrary, HelpNow, JobNow, LearningExpress Library, EBSCOhost, Microsoft Office Suite, computer basics and more
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
A bibliographic database that covers the culture, history and daily life of native North Americans, which is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues of North Americas indigenous peoples.
Education
Offers busy adults the resources to improve their basic skills in reading, writing, and math, prepare for the GED test, or become a U.S. citizen.
This research database includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
A collection of interactive tutorials, practice tests, articles, flash cards and e-books patrons can use to improve academic skills in reading, writing, math and science as well as prepare for high-stakes exams.
The most beneficial and most significant collection of full-text education journals in the world.
Teacher Reference Center indexes abstracts, citations and full-text articles from 280 periodicals.
Genealogy & History
A bibliographic database that covers the culture, history and daily life of native North Americans, which is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues of North Americas indigenous peoples.
Texas history, geography, and culture gathered by the Texas State Historical Association.
HeritageQuest® Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. Powered by Ancestry® with more than 4.4 billion records and coverage dating back to the 1700s.
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries. Digital Sanborn Maps provides digital access to 2118 large-scale maps of 436 Texas towns and cities, including Dallas, Houston, Austin, El Paso, Fort Worth, and San Antonio. GPS coordinates and uses a selection of enhanced images from.
A collection of journals and books about Texas and Texans with topics including the state’s history, its ethnic and cultural diversity, literature, public health, business, leisure and more.
Government & Politics
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. (Formerly called THOMAS Legislative Information.)
Provides cover-to-cover full text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Health & Medicine
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information.
A source for alternative perspectives on healthcare and wellness providing access to the latest information and materials related to holistic medicine.
A patient education support tool with consumer-oriented content covering mainstream, holistic and integrated medicine.
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
A source for consumer health information from popular magazines about aging, fitness, nutrition, wellness, disease prevention and more.
An essential resource for nursing and health research covering pediatrics, critical care, mental health, medical law and more.
MedicLatina es una colección en investigación médica y publicaciones de investigación de prestigiosas editoriales de América Latina y España. A unique collection of medical and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers covering a range of health and medical subjects.
An essential biomedical research resource providing access to many of the most-used biomedical and health journals, covering a wide range of subjects.
A database containing accurate, unbiased information on medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions and homeopathy.
Salud para todos proporciona la información con texto completo (en español) para los asuntos múltiples relacionados con la medicina y la salud. A collection of Spanish-language evidence-based reports and fact sheets covering all aspects of health and wellness, including diseases, conditions, injuries, procedures and treatments.
Hobbies & Crafts
A collection of leading hobby and craft magazines with detailed how-to instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.
Home & Garden
A comprehensive full-text collection of detailed, user-friendly how-to information covering a variety of home improvement and repair projects.
Homework Help
An online tutoring service for students in grades K-12 featuring one-on-one tutoring and self-paced study tools. Available in English and Spanish, live one-on-one tutoring with qualified tutors is available daily between 2pm and 11pm. Other study tools are available 24/7.
An easy-to-use search interface for K-5 students looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books and encyclopedias on a variety of topics, such as animals, art, music, geography, language arts, math, science and social studies.
An easy-to-use search interface for students in grades 6-12 looking for magazine and newspaper articles, books, informational texts, primary sources, multimedia and more on a variety of curriculum-related topics.
A full-text database with hundreds of high school magazines and reference books, thousands of biographies and primary source documents, and over one million photos, maps and flags.
A full-text database of popular middle school magazines and reference books, biographies and primary source documents, and over one million photos, maps and flags.
A full-text database for young researchers with easy-to-read online encyclopedia entries, complete articles from popular children magazines, and a vast image collection.
Skill-building resources for elementary, middle and high school classroom and homework success.
Bring to life childrens and YA books with video trailers, author interviews, discussion questions, and much more. Great for book clubs, choosing books, and homework help!
A diverse full-text collection to support conversation about current events; social, political and economic issues; scientific discoveries and other topics discussed in classrooms.
Jobs & Careers
Learn about careers, prepare for entrance and occupations exams, get ready to join the military or become an officer, learn how to conduct a job search and improve workplace skills.
A full-text database that covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR), including risk evaluation, emergency preparedness and crisis communications.
A job search and career exploration resource with more than 1,100 occupations, sample resumes and cover letters, current job and internship postings, and guidance on preparing for and getting a job.
Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques. Experience personalized career center seamlessly integrated with advanced virtual technology to help job seekers of diverse backgrounds and needs.
Full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public.
Law
Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others.
A valuable database of the most respected scholarly law journals covering the current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
A resource to help laypersons navigate a wide range of legal issues with top consumer legal reference books including Nolo do-it-yourself guides as well as thousands of legal forms.
Religion & Philosophy
This resource is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Science & Technology
A bibliographic resource with millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture for journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, and technical reports to support agricultural research.
Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science.
Science In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of todays most significant science topics.
Covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, this comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Indexing and abstracts for key library and information science journals, books, research reports and more.
A full-text database of top science journals covering an scientific and technical subjects, including chemistry, biology, computer technology and physics.
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Full-text content relevant to many integral areas of sustainability initiative management such as recycling, renewable energy, resource conservation and more.
Social Sciences
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
OVIC is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of todays hottest social issues. Topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, and audio files.
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Humanities Full Text encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more.
This database has been enhanced to include cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 80 core information science and technology titles. With coverage dating as far back as the mid 1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field.
This comprehensive resource provides extensive full-text coverage for a broad range of topics in the fields of psychology and behavioral sciences.
This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races.
Spanish Language
Fuente Académica cubre todas las áreas académicas con un énfasis especial en agricultura, ciencias biológicas, economía, historia, derecho, literatura, filosofía, psicología, administración pública, religión y sociología.
A multidisciplinary database that provides full-text coverage of Spanish-language scholarly content with journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
MedicLatina es una colección en investigación médica y publicaciones de investigación de prestigiosas editoriales de América Latina y España.
A unique collection of medical and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers covering a range of health and medical subjects.
Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español
This center provides learning tools as well as career and citizenship resources to help busy adults improve their basic skills, earn a GED® credential or become a U.S. citizen.
Presenta más de 50 revistas de interés general y los artículos más recientes de una docena de periódicos y noticias de 8 países latinoamericanos.
A full-text Spanish-language database covering a broad array of subjects, which offers reference books, general interest magazines, newspapers, newswires and health reports.
Salud para todos proporciona la información con texto completo (en español) para los asuntos múltiples relacionados con la medicina y la salud.
A collection of Spanish-language evidence-based reports and fact sheets covering all aspects of health and wellness, including diseases, conditions, injuries, procedures and treatments.
Test Preparation
Prepare for important exams like the ACT® and SAT®
Prepare for important exams like the ACT® and SAT®
Prepare for important exams like the ACT®, SAT®, AP® Tests, and more.
If you need to strengthen your fundamental academic skills for your courses, prepare for an important placement test, or ensure a top score on a graduate school entrance exam, the resources here can help you reach your goal.
If you need to strengthen your fundamental academic skills for your courses, prepare for an important placement test, or ensure a top score on a graduate school entrance exam, the resources here can help you reach your goal.
An online tutoring service for students in grades K-12 featuring one-on-one tutoring and self-paced study tools. Available in English and Spanish, live one-on-one tutoring with qualified tutors is available daily between 2pm and 11pm. Other study tools are available 24/7.
Guided support and preparation to help you earn a high school equivalency credential.
A collection of interactive tutorials, practice tests, articles, flash cards and e-books patrons can use to improve academic skills in reading, writing, math and science as well as prepare for high-stakes exams.
